3rd Saturday at 8:30 AM
Charter Date
RXIII Agusan and Surigao
Surigao Del Sur

Red Mountain Lodge No. 241

The Name
            The first name proposed for this lodge was "laterite," a substance found in great abundance in Tandag, Surigao del Sur, and the mountains around it. Laterite is a product of rock decay, red in color and having a high content in the oxides of iron and hydroxide of aluminum.
            The members, however, feared that "laterite" may be too highbrow, so they settled for "Red Mountain" which adverts to the color laterite gives to the surrounding hills and mountains.


The Lodge
            Red Mountain Lodge No. 241 was organized by fifty-three Master Masons in Tandag, Surigao del Sur. It was granted a charter by the Grand Lodge on April 25, 1980 and was constituted in ceremonies held at the Tandag Municipal Gymnasium on May 17, 1980. Grand Master Manuel D. Mandac, assisted by other Grand Lodge Officers, presided over the rites.

             MW Mandac, accompanied by RW Rosendo C. Herrera, Junior Grand Warden; VW Hermogenes P. Oliveros, Senior Grand Lecturer; VW Pedro W. Guerzon, Grand Marshal; VW Wilfredo T. Mendoza, DDGM, District No. 31; VW Abraham Alviola, DGL, District No. 31, and WB Leopoldo G. dela Rosa motored from Butuan and Cagayan de Oro City to attend the affair. Delegations from Mati-Aurora Lodge No. 190 and Cotabato were also on hand to grace the occasion.

            A luncheon was tendered by WB Prudencio S. Afalla, Master of the lodge, at the Bureau of Forestry Office immediately upon the arrival of the Grand Officers and visiting brethren.

            In the afternoon, the delegation, led by the Grand Master, paid courtesy calls on Surigao del Sur Governor Dr. Gregorio P. Murillo and Dr. Mario Serra Ty, Municipal Mayor. The delegation then proceeded to the Rizal Monument at the Municipal Plaza for the floral offering rites. At the lodge, MW Mandac, assisted by the Grand Officers, opened the Grand Lodge in ample form for the constitution of the lodge.

            The team that constituted the lodge was composed of: MW Manuel D. Mandac, as Grand Master; RW Rosendo C. Herrera, as Deputy Grand Master; VW Wilfredo T. Mendoza as Senior Grand Warden; and VW Pedro W.Guerzon as Junior Grand Warden.

            Immediately after the lodge was constituted, the officers were installed. RW Rosendo C. Herrera was the installing officer and VW Wilfredo T. Mendoza, the Master of Ceremonies. Prudencio S. Afalla was installed as the first Master of the lodge.

            Governor Gregorio P. Murillo, Tandag Mayor Mario Serra Ty, Judge Homero Elpa, Msgr. Daniel Orteza, Vicar of the Diocese of Tandag Roman Catholic Church, and Rev. Enrico Baltomo, Minister of Evangelical Bible Mission, attended the ceremonies. Msgr. Orteza and Rev. Baltomo delivered the joint
invocation. A fraternal dinner was tendered after the rites.


            Location: Tandag, Surigao del Sur