1st Wednesday at 5:30 PM
Charter Date
Macajalar Masonic Temple
MD R X Cagayan De Oro Central

Makahambus Lodge No. 315

The Name

            This lodge is named after the Makahambus Cave, one of the many attractions of Cagayan de Oro City, about thirty minutes drive from downtown. The Makahambus Cave itself is a showcase on the hidden natural wonders of the city.

            Whether or not the term "Makahambus" was derived from the English word "ambush," even local historians could not tell. But the fact is, Makahambus, was the site where valiant Filipinos led by Colonel and Bro. Velez successfully defended the place on June 4, 1900, against the onslaught of the conquering
American Expeditionary forces which suffered heavy losses compared to the minimal losses of the defenders.

The Lodge

            On September 2, 1994, a petition for a dispensation to form a new lodge in Cagayan de Oro to be named Makahambus Lodge was sent to Grand Master Pablo C. Ko, Jr., by thirty four Master Masons, with the favorable recommendation of Macajalar Lodge. The petitioners were led by Benito A. Barcelona, Briccio A. Bullecer, Vicente S. Cayme, Peter U.Lim Lo Suy, Albino L. Ching, Robert S. Dy. Nixon D. Gabud, Michael U. Lu and Jimmy C. Ting, On December 9, 1994, MW Ko gave them a dispensation and designated Henry T. Ching Tiu to be the first Master, MacDuffie A. Tan to be the first Senior Warden, and Henry L. Chiu to be the first Junior Warden, of the new lodge. On December 20, 1994 the lodge was duly instituted and its Dispensation Officers installed.

            At the annual communication of the Grand Lodge held in April 1995, the Committee on Charters recommended that the lodge be granted a charter based on its findings that it was able to initiate twelve candidates, pass nine and raise six to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason. Accordingly, the Grand Lodge gave Makahambus Lodge a charter and assigned number 315 to it.

On May 20, 1995, Maranambus Lodge No. 315 was formally constituted by a team composed of Grand Master Danilo D. Angeles, RW Jose Percival L. Adiong, RW Enrique L. Locsin and several other Masonic dignitaries. After the constitution of the lodge, VW Ernesto A. Malapaya installed the officers with
the help of VW Dennis T. Gabionza, who served as Master of Ceremonies.

            The lodge has since been functioning as a sturdy and regular lodge and, as of the year 2001, had a total membership of 52 brethren and was in a sound financial condition.

            Location: Cagayan de Oro City