2nd Saturday at 2:00 PM
Charter Date
RIX Misamis Occidental and Zamboanga Del Norte
Zamboanga Del Sur

Dipolog Lodge No. 162 (formerly known as Dipolog Lodge)

The Name

Dipolog Lodge is named after the City of Dipolog. Dipolog was earlier called "dipolo" or "siripolo." The term "dipolog" comes from the Subano word "dipag" which means "on the opposite side of the river."

The Lodge

The idea of establishing a Masonic Lodge in Dipolog, Zamboanga del Norte was started by five ardent Masons - Leon R. Barinaga, Dionisio Q. Erfe, Francisco M. Sevilleno, Buenaventura V. Juan, and Abundio S. Villanueva. They met on August 19, 1961, and framed a petition for dispensation. They were later joined by brethren from Mount Apo Lodge No. 45, Oroquieta Lodge No. 154 and Malindang Lodge No.130. In all, thirty brothers belonging to four Masonic lodges signed the petition.

 On September 22, 1961, Grand Master Juan S. Alano issued a dispensation for the organization the lodge. Its first Stated Meeting under dispensation took place on November 11, 1961, which coincided with the installation of its officers. Among those installed were: Master, Dionisio Q. Erfe; Senior Warden, Francisco M. Sevilleno; and, Junior Warden, Buenaventura V. Juan.

Like any other infant organization, Dipolog Lodge underwent difficulties in its early days. It started with practically nothing; fortunately a number of members made generous donations that solved some of the problems of the lodge.

In the following months several petitioners were accepted into the lodge and were conferred degrees. This was significant considering the antagonistic attitude of several residents in the province toward Masonry at that time. It also demonstrated the dedication of the members of the degree teams who had to travel from distant places just to attend the conferrals.

 On April 25, 1962, the Grand Lodge granted a charter to the lodge as Dipolog Lodge No 162 and on June 16, 1962, Grand Master William H. Quasha, accompanied by MW Juan S. Alano, MW Esteban Munarriz, RW Hermogenes P. Oliveros, and VW Joseph Limso, officially constituted Dipolog Lodge No 162 and installed its first set of officers under charter.

 On January 16, 1970, Jose M. Lagahit was installed for the third time as Master of the lodge. Bishop Felix S. Zafra of the Roman Catholic Church, delivered the invocation and principal speech. This was a first in the history of the lodge.

On September 4, 1971, during the Mastership of Antonino G. Lim, the cornerstone of the Temple of Dipolog Lodge No. 162 was laid. Two years later, Dipolog Lodge hosted the 17th Regional Masonic Convention for Maguindanao, Basilan and Sulu from June 28 to 30, 1973.

 In 1980, Dipolog Lodge No. 162 sponsored and paved the way for the creation of Sindangan Lodge No. 240. Likewise, on February 15 of the same year, the members established Dipolog Bodies, A. & A.S.R. Six years later, Dipolog Lodge was instrumental in laying the foundation for the establishment of Orchid City Chapter No. 24, Q.E.S. Then in 1988, preliminary arrangements were laid for the construction of a "landmark," a "pyramid-type" monument and marker conspicuously located at the Rizal Shrine Park in Dapitan City which the members dedicated to Dr. Jose P. Rizal. MW Rosendo C. Herrera, WB Mayor Roseller L. Barinaga of Dipolog City, Mayor James Adaza of Dapitan City and VW Edmund L. Gawchua secured the cornerstone on solid ground. After its completion, MW Herrera returned to unveil the monument.

In 1988, when Becker P. Young was the Master, Dipolog Lodge No. 162, was awarded the prestigious "Grand Master's Cup" as the Most Outstanding Lodge in the jurisdiction.

Location: Dipolog City